rapid kl lrt

In conjunction with the official opening of phase 1 of the MRT Putrajaya Line, Prime Minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob has announced that all Rapid KL public transport services will be free for a whole month starting today. This includes the MRT, the LRT, the BRT, the monorail, and any Rapid KL bus service.

After several delays, phase 1 of the Putrajaya line is set to open to the public today at 3 PM, consisting of 12 stations. The line’s stations are Kwasa Damansara, Kampung Selamat, Sungai Buloh, Damansara Damai, Sri Damansara Barat, Sri Damansara Sentral, Sri Damansara Timur, Metro Prima, Kepong Baru, Jinjang, Sri Delima, and Kampung Batu.

MRT Putrajaya Line map
Photo: MRT Corp

Commuters can interchange with the Kajang line at Kwasa Damansara and interchange with the KTM at the Sungai Buloh, Sri Damansara Timur, and Kampung Batu stations. Eight of the stations also offer Park N Ride facilities, allowing users to park their cars and use public transport to commute.

Phase 1, which is 17.5 KM long, is served by 20 driverless trains with four cars each, capable of carrying a total of 1,204 passengers. There are multiple feeder bus routes that will serve the line, including the new Maroon line of Go KL City Bus in the Kampung Batu area.

mrt putrajaya rapid kl
Photo: MRT Corp/Twitter

In total, the Putrajaya line is set to have 36 stations with four additional provisional stations, directly connecting it with the Kelana Jaya line, Ampang line and Sri Petaling line. The rest of the stations will be launching as part of Phase 2, which is set to start operating in January 2023 with a total of 49 train sets.

The government also has plans for a third MRT line called the Circle line, which will form a loop around Klang Valley and complete the Klang Valley Integrated Transit System. Tentatively, the line is expected to start operating partially by 2028 and be completed in 2030.

(Source: Bernama)

The post Commuters Can Ride The MRT, LRT For Free For A Month appeared first on Lowyat.NET.